Wide!

Video: Reading awarded a goal without scoring

Worst decision ever? Yes, worst decision ever

Conventionally, goals are awarded when the ball crosses the line and ends in the net bit. Assistant referee Nigel Bannister, however, took an unusual approach this weekend when he awarded Reading a goal for an attempt that went at least two yards wide.

As you can see above, referee Stuart Attwell chose not to trust his own eyes and acquiesced to the linesman’s belief that John Eustace’s clearance ended up in the net. The Watford midfielder ended up with his first career own goal, and Reading went on to earn a 2-2 draw at an angry Vicarage Road.

While the linesman’s decision was very poor, Reading’s unsporting decision to carry on without giving Watford an opportunity to equalise is surely a much bigger mistake.


1 response so far
  • Honest Abe // September 22, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    I wonder if that old fool Blatter will still say goal line tech is pointless now?

Leave a comment
  1. View comments in RSS feed