Vote: Were Chelsea deliberately cheated out of a place in the final?
“Are you watching this? It’s a f**king disgrace.”
Poor old Didier Drogba. Despite trying to help his team by throwing himself on the floor as much as possible, he was ultimately denied another opportunity to get sent off in a Champions League final by the piss poor refereeing of Norwegian Tom Henning Øvrebø. Le Drog – who thought nothing of dropping the F-Bomb in front of millions of TV viewers – now faces a lengthy ban for
wearing flip flops on the pitch verbally abusing the offical.
While Ballack and Drogba’s conduct may have been unacceptable, the inexperienced Norwegian has since admitted he did not perform his job properly:
The referee is understood to have told the UEFA match delegate after the game that he made “significant mistakes” over the course of the game.
It’s no secret that Michel Platini and his UEFA cronies were extremely keen to avoid another all-English final, leaving conspiracy theorists convinced that Øvrebø’s questionable decisions cannot simply be put down to his woefully bad judgment. After the game, Guus Hiddink hinted at a stitch-up:
“Conspiracy is a very tough word, I don’t want to go with that tough word. [Um, you just did - Ed.]
“I cannot say if UEFA would not like another all-English final.”
So, what do we think? Was it all a big carve up, or can we put this one down to human error? Let us know your thoughts below…