Competition Time

Who wants to win a load of books about football?

Okay, so that’s most people…


As previously mentioned, The Spoiler inbox is a hotbed of frenzied activity – most of it bad. But, every once in a while, a small diamond rises to the top of the overflowing goblet of sewage, such as an email received today from a gentleman working on behalf of Ladbrokes.

Very kindly, they’re giving away the entire shortlist for Football Book of the Year – awarded at the British Sports Book Awards later this month – to TWO lucky Spoiler readers. Read on if you fancy getting your hands on the loot.

To celebrate the upcoming British Sports Book Awards on 11 March 2010, Ladbrokes, sponsors of the category, is offering the chance to win the entire shortlist for the Football Book of the Year Award. Two lucky winners will take away a copy of all six books in the running to win this prestigious title, including:

“Englischer Fussball” by Raphael Honigstein

“Every Boy’s Dream” by Chris Green

“Why England Lose” by Simon Kuper and Stefan Szymanski

“Cantona” by Philippe Auclair

“Feet of the Chameleon” by Ian Hawkey

“Stokoe, Sunderland and ‘73″ by Lance Hardy.

To enter, simply email your answer to the following (below) question here:

“Which Englishman top scored at the 1986 World Cup?”

(For the most up to date and wide ranging sporting odds visit

Leave a comment
  1. View comments in RSS feed