More great refereeing

Liverpool get a slightly dodgy penalty against Sunderland

Something really witty about a beach ball…

You may remember a few weeks ago when Andrei Arshavin scored a goal against Sunderland that got disallowed despite the dinky Russian being well onside? Steve Bruce said (roughly, maybe exactly) this after the final whistle:

“Well done, linesman!”

He then laughed and headed back to Sunderland with a skip in his step and song in his heart.

Just saying…

(The penalty decision is after about 2:30)


3 responses so far
  • gaptooth // March 21, 2011 at 11:55 am

    what goes around -comes around
    remember the beach ball incident last year ?

  • Ron Gordon // March 21, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    Sky spent about 20mins promoting this game as the ‘Beachball’ tie, the shits.

    Still don’t think it was a pen — the ref got it right the first time.

  • Kevin // March 22, 2011 at 4:31 am

    I’m amused by Spearing after the penalty. The other Liverpool players are all jumping on each other, and he seems to be like, “Hey guys! Guys! Remember me? I got that penalty! Hey guys!”

    I suspect he’ll fetch a tidy sum for a mid table Championship side in a year or two.

    Which, to be fair to him, is about 13 divisions higher than I would have ever played.

Leave a comment
  1. View comments in RSS feed