A poll!

So, do you think it was a penalty for Chelsea last night?

A debateable decision?

ramirespenshout.jpg

You may not have noticed, but in the dying minutes of Manchester United’s 1-0 win over Chelsea, there was a pretty big shout for a penalty when Patrice Evra may have fouled contact with Ramires in the box.

Sir Alex Ferguson doesn’t seem too sure about what to make of it, saying:

“Yeah, someone said it could have been a penalty. It was the first penalty decision we’ve had in seven years, so we’re due one.

“But I don’t feel guilty about that at all. It was a 50-50 from where I was and I don’t know what the contact situation was.”

But what do you think? After the jump there’s a poll. Also, feel free to give your opinion in the comments section below.


9 responses so far
  • chatsworth // April 7, 2011 at 9:46 am

    It was a foul but it started outside the box, read the rules.

  • internet pundit // April 7, 2011 at 10:30 am

    lol @ poll answers

  • Phil // April 7, 2011 at 10:43 am

    @ chatsworth – did it? really? from where I was sat, it looked to me as if ramires had already entered the box, took a touch on the ball to control it, and then Evra decided to do his ‘leg hugging’, I personally have never seen a more cast iron penny in quite a while, shocking decision!!

    @ internet pudit – I know, who says, The Spoiler, has lost it’s sense of democratic neutrality!! LOL…

  • Bob // April 7, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    To the idiots who voted yes, you’re biased scum! Couldn’t you see it was definitely absoultely a penalty?

  • V // April 7, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    “chatsworth: It was a foul but it started outside the box”

    loled

  • JLBK // April 7, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    The rule actually states that the position of the foul is determined by the first contact of the in the run of play. If that’s the case, first contact was when Evra clipped Ramires’ foot, which was outside the box, then he followed through and wrapped his leg round which cause Ramires to go down in the box. From a STRICT, literal interpretation of the rule, it should have been a freekick on the edge of the box. We saw this call go the other way with the second penalty for Carlton Cole in the United v W Ham match last weekend. First contact was outside the box but Cole was brought down inside and the penalty box. Sometimes it goes for you and sometimes against.

  • Tim // April 7, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    True, sometimes the rule goes for/against. But even then, it would still be a free kick. Anyone that doesn’t think it was a foul is mad or have blinders on.

    As a neutral, it is becoming a great laugh each time Cheski are on the end of bad/missed calls in the CL…

  • Brian // April 7, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    It’s debatable about whether it was inside or outside of the box. Personally, I think there should have at least been some stoppage of play given that tackle.

    If Chelsea are going to go through, their midfield needs to be much more effective. Oh, and Torres too. Can’t believe they left him on and took Drogba off. If Chelsea want to go score, they’ll need to find better ways of getting more effective shots on target. While the stats might suggest that they did well in that regard, anyone who watched the game knows otherwise. The way they kept trying to pass the ball in the box and then take a shot in front of more than a few defenders with no power reminds me of what Real Madrid were trying to do against Spurs the other night. Except, well, Real Madrid can score and Chelsea can’t seem to finish.

  • R2Dad // April 7, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    It was a careless foul, so something should have been called. The question is Was it in the box? The referee didn’t call a foul, but I’ve seen players get ejected for Denying An Obvious Goal Scoring Opportunity under those circumstances, and that doesn’t have to be in the box. Distance to goal, Distance to ball, Defender position/location and number, Direction to goal; that is also a possibility here though I have not seen anyone else mention it.

Leave a comment
  1. View comments in RSS feed